Ode to Brussels Sprouts (to make the kids laugh)

As we worked on writer’s purpose and descriptive language in writer’s workshop, we wrote playful poems the other day. One of the funniest things to third and fourth graders is “love”. No mushy stuff allowed.  Absolutely no mush. We just completed Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White in our read aloud time, and Louis the Swan’s over-the-top love for Serena cracks up the kids every time.  One ongoing class joke this year has been Cheesy Boy’s great love for mac ‘n cheese, which he includes in nearly everything he writes.  So we put our humor into action by writing odes to unexpected items such as mac ‘n cheese, dirty sneakers, an old basketball, or our masks.  Stay tuned to read these soon on the students’ blogs.  They are hilarious.

So this vacation our family decided to splurge on Thai food, and we included stir-fried Brussels sprouts with our order.  I couldn’t resist posting my “Ode to Brussels Sprouts” from our workshop, which earned loud, horrified protests from the students.  I’m sure our neighbor, Mrs. Peets, wondered what I was doing to torture them.  This is what . . . .

I spied you one summer day,

So tall and stately in my garden,

With all your mini cabbages

Lined up like a gorgeous green gown on your stem.

And my heart thumped.

Oh, Brussels sprouts, my petite darlings!

You make me drool with joy!

Your tiny leaves!

Your crunchy tenderness!

Grilled or sauteed with bacon,

Your deliciousness knows no end.

Even when I shred you on my salad,

Each bite explodes with mighty flavor.

I miss you when you’re gone,

And long to see you once again,

To feast upon your savory delight, your emerald roundness.

My adorable little Brussels Sprouts,

I’m glad you’re all mine!

2 thoughts on “Ode to Brussels Sprouts (to make the kids laugh)

  1. NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BRUCILS SPROUTS!!!!!!!!!!!!! How can you even stand the smell and how can you eat it I mean it’s horrible!!!! It’s a nightmare it’s so bad!!!!! 🧀🧀🧀🧀

  2. As I savored this delicious Thai dinner, I actually thought of your face during class, how horrified you were over this poem, how you moaned and groaned at even the thought of a whiff of Brussels sprout. My whole family got a good laugh over it. And then we kept eating our Brussels sprouts, smiling all the while. . . . .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *