Where We’re From

Where We’re From
By the 2nd/3rd Grade Class

As we’ve been getting to know each other, we used George Ella Lyons’ poem, “Where I’m From”, to inspire our own poems. We took a line from each class member’s poem and combined them into a class poem for you to enjoy. Can you guess which line belongs to which person?

I’m from midnight moons and peeping frogs.
I’m from Cape Cod where the waves
Crash down on the sand.
I am from the napping house.
I’m from a mountain,
And smelling my mom’s turkey.
I’m from, “Always do your homework!”
I am from my tree house woods.
And my mom’s chocolate chip cookies.
I’m from my bedroom
Where every day is a new adventure!
I’m from ENERGY!
I’m from holding IV bags during Dad’s operations on a milk cow,
And wishing I could know even a quarter of what my mom knows.
I’m from, “Let’s Look It Up!”
Steak, corn, rice, tacos
Are a feast all together.
That’s who I am—a feast all together.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *