Where We’re From

One of our community-building activities included using George Ella Lyon’s poem, “Where I’m From”, to spark our own poems. The students posted theirs to their blogs, and this is the class poem we built with a line we each loved from our own poems.

Where We’re From
by the fourth grade class

I’m from laughing and playing,
Singing and dancing.
I’m from tuna, shrimp, and “Home Sweet Home,”
I’m from holding IV bags during Dad’s operations on a milk cow,
And wishing I could know even a quarter of what my mom knows.
I’m from root beer, machine guns, and video games.
I’m from four wheelers and monster trucks,
From fishing, and getting dirty.
I’m from the blossoms growing in my gram’s yard.
I’m from a “Be good. I love you.” family.
I’m from mom’s chocolate chip cookies
That smell so good when I walk in the house.
I’m from yummy corn, hamburgers, and cheese with some crust.
I’m from my great grammy’s lava lamp.
With my dusty drawer filled with love, memories and pictures.
We’re glad we’re us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *