Speechless

IMG_4805

I wish you could have been with me this afternoon, as one of our DES students touched my heart with a single moment that could sustain me my whole life as a teacher even if no other encouragement ever came my way.

I was watching the students play when this child called me over to watch her demonstrate something that has been hard for her on the moonwalker. She scampered across the field to invite me to watch, urging me to come closer than my “see the whole playground” location allowed. My injured knee was having a cantankerous day today, so I strolled along behind her. Suddenly, she stopped, turned around, and then raced back to me.

“Don’t worry. You don’t have to walk alone. I will stay with you.”

I long for every one of my students to feel the way I felt when she said those words to me.

Don’t worry. You don’t have to walk alone. I will stay with you.

3 thoughts on “Speechless

  1. WOW! What DES ROCKS behavior….we are making a difference each day!

    That also puts a smile on my heart! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Strong and mighty ROCKS behavior indeed! The way I felt when she looked up at me with those words is what DES is all about. With habits of really noticing and caring about other people in that way, our students will impact the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *