What?

IMG_2184 IMG_2185

And here, to complete your tour of the Plymouth Writing Project at Plymouth State University is a picture of my dorm room’s toilet.  Seriously?  Miss Blessing, that is TMI!  TMI!

Do you notice anything unusual?  Do you wonder why it is different from most of the toilets we’ve seen before?  I wondered!  The first day I arrived, I looked up several websites all about it because I had never seen a dual-flush toilet before.

Check it out.

http://home.howstuffworks.com/dual-flush-toilet.htm

And here is a description of some of the changes they made to the design when they created this building.

langdon woods website

Math lovers, how could you estimate how many gallons of water one of these toilets saves a year if they’ve reduced their water use by 30% (averaged together with low flow showers)?  Or for the 347 students who live here, how many gallons this whole building saves?  What other information would you need to find out to solve this problem?  Could you find some of that information on the internet?  Some of it by estimating?  (Ask your adult first about supervising your searches or look closely at the above website.)  Put your estimates in a comment!

I wonder what ideas you have that might make a positive change for the future.  Somebody thought up this toilet design, and you might be the designer of the next good stewardship idea.  Write a comment about your thoughts.

Did you ever think that one of your teachers would be writing a post about . . . . toilets?  Don’t say I never surprised you.

__________________


4 thoughts on “What?

  1. Thank you, Miss Blessing! This is such important information for your students. Do they know you are living in a “green” building?

    Mr. Draper loves to figure out how much water can be saved for drinking and swimming and clean water habitats by using good technology and conservation.

    So, Mr. Draper is waiting to hear from your math wizards…

    I enjoy seeing you every day, Miss Blessing. (-: Gretchen

  2. HI Miss Blessing,

    I wished I knew a little bit more about these before I built my house. It is a very interesting concept.

    Now to your math questions…I know that 30% can be changed to a decimal .30 and there are 347 students. I guess I will have to read some to see how much water a regular toilet uses compared to this “new” toilet.

    Come on DES students….help Miss Blessing out with her math problem!

  3. Here are a few other ideas to conserving water:
    Turn off the water when you brush your teeth.
    Take quick showers.
    When your washing the car don’t have the water on when you’re sudsing up the car.
    Turn the water off when you are rubbing soap on your hands.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *