How Do Scientists Know So Much?

To build our observation skills as scientists, we picked an ordinary thing that we look at every day and looked at it much more closely.  Drawing carefully helped us notice things we hadn’t particularly noticed before.  We generated questions we wondered about and then counted up our questions.

I wonder why my thumb is shorter than my fingers?

Why are there cracks by the knuckles?

Why do we have so many veins in our hands?

Why do I have wrinkles?

What are all those little holes?

Why is there webby skin between my fingers?

Why is my thumb in such a low place?

Why do we have fingernails?

Why does my finger have bumps?

Why are the nails only on one side?

Why do the finger knuckles look wrinkly but the hand knuckles look round?

Why are the lines in my palms different on the two hands?

Can you tell we are ready to be observant scientists making many discoveries this year?

2 thoughts on “How Do Scientists Know So Much?

  1. Dear Miss Blessing,
    Hi my name is Amelia in the Pacific north west from the USA.
    I thought your masks were very creative and were a great way to have as a avatar in edu blogs.
    My class dose something called STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) STEM is basically all about us students learning how to do more and more Engineering as the year goes by,
    We are a 5th grade class and my teacher Mrs. Novy also teaches STEM with Mr. Palmer the teacher that is in the portable right next to us seprated by two doors.

    Keep up the good posts! ^-^
    Amelia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *