Enjoying the Last Winter Fireplace Readers

When Circus Ship disappeared at home, Mrs. Bokinala even went to buy another copy of this family favorite because no other book would do for her read aloud!  What a tricky book!

We discovered that Nico’s family is full of poets!  Mrs. Merritt shared some poems from Nico’s great grandfather’s book of haiku.  One of her favorite poems, “Jabberwocky” by Lewis Carroll, helped us enjoy some very inventive words.  Then we had the treat of hearing samples of her own poetry and discussing her tips for being a lifelong writer.

Mrs. Merritt gave us permission to share one of her poems.

 

Belly Button

by Lulu Merritt

I see you there, round and little,

sitting there right in the middle.

The crowning glory of any glutton,

you weird and useless belly-button.

What’s your purpose?  Why are you here?

You do not help me see or hear.

You do not catch me when I fall.

You simply are, and that is all.

You just hang out at my belly’s center,

A place for dirt and lint to enter.

Some are outies, but you’re an innie,

Would that change if I were not so skinny?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *