Red Lantern

So the final musher has passed beneath the Burled Arch, earning the Red Lantern for not giving up on the long, exhausting trail.  We are wrapping up our unit, already missing ending our Iditarod days dancing to “I Did, I Did, I Did the Iditarod Trail.”

One Iditareader reached Nome by reading over 1,049 pages during the race.  Here he travels beneath our own burled arch.

 

We used our word choice skills to brainstorm specific Iditarod words that would capture our feelings about the race in some way.  We wrote “I poems” and painted a work of art to match the feelings we expressed.  Be sure to catch the students’ poems on their blogs!

Forty Below

by Miss Blessing

I zap your energy.

I sneak through your parka,

Nipping your fingers and biting your skin.

I might just be the winner of this race if you don’t watch out!

Bootie up those dogs because I have razor sharp edges.

I swirl.

I whirl.

I boss.

I exhaust.

I make the snow squinch and scrunch with my mighty arm.

I am the bullying, frostbite-your-nose, below zero cold of the Iditarod!

One thought on “Red Lantern

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *