Images

Do you remember how it felt when Marty Kelley came to visit us?  Wasn’t it a thrill to hear Mary Lyn Ray respond to your own writing?  Well, one of the privileges of the Writing Institute is getting to meet a new published author EVERY WEEK!  We listen carefully to something they have written, and they challenge us to write something too.

Our first author, Janna Smith, had us pick an image, a picture that we had in our head.  Then we created, keeping just that simple picture in our minds.  My classmates wrote about all kinds of things, such as ladies carrying water on their heads in Kenya, being in a kayak on a river, and even a very dirty and gross sponge.

I was in  sort of a peaceful mood because I had a picture of my flower garden in my head that day, but it could be any kind of image you want.  What’s in your head today?  I wonder if you might have the image of your baseball game, the sprinkler in your back yard, or your friend’s arm full of Silly Bandz.  Write a comment or a post on your blog about the image in your head.  I will write back if you do!

3 thoughts on “Images

  1. You have given me a special image for the summer:

    “Today I started my day with a Cosmo.”

    That’s a happy thought.

  2. We are visualizing:
    Lego Star Wars – I played it last night and it is stuck in my head.
    My swingset at Papa’s – I was building it yesterday with him.
    A little cabin – it looks like a toolshed.
    Nature – we’ve been talking about nature today.

  3. DES students,

    You grabbed me right away with your images. I started to imagine each one. Maybe you could write a little more about them so I can imagine even more. I’d love to read your writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *